
New York State Department of Taxation and Finance
Office of Real Property Tax Services

RP-425
(6/12)

Application for School Tax Relief (STAR) Exemption
(See general information and instructions on the back page)

Mailing address of owner(s)

E-mail address __ -'- _

Street address Village (if any)

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
I (we) certify that all of the above information is
correct, that the property listed above is owned
by me (us) and is my (our) primary residence and
that my (our) 2011 income was less than
$500,000. I (we) understand it is my (our)
obligation to notify the assessor if I (we) relocate
to another primary residence and to provide any
documentation of eligibility that is requested ..•..........•....•............ ~ ,

School district

Tomapnumb~mse~o~~oc~~t ~~~~~~~~-~~----~~-------
Property identification (see tax bill or assessment roll)

Name and telephone number of owner(s)

Day phone number ( )_~_----_~_---
Evening phone no. ( )-~_----------
Location of property

City/town

1. Did the combined income of the owners and spouses who reside on the property exceed $500,000 in the 2011
income to year? (Note: The NYS Department of Taxation and Finance will be confirming the income eligibility of
STAR recipients.) Yes D NoD
If Yes, you are not eligible for the STAR 'exemption for the 2013-2014 school year.

2. Do you or your spouse own any other property that is currently receiving the STAR exemption? Yes D No D
3. Do you or your spouse own property in another state that you are claiming as your full time

residence and are receiving a residency to benefit, such as the Florida Homestead exemption? Yes D No D
If Yes, give the address of each such property: _

You may be eligible for a larger school property to savings if you meet these age and income requirements
4. If you are applying for STAR for the 2013-2014 school year:

a) Will all owners be at least 65 years of age as of December 31, 2013? OR
b) If the property is owned by a married couple or by siblings, will at least one of the

spouses or siblings be at least 65 years of age as of December 31, 2013?Yes D No D
5. Is the total 2011 income of all the owners, and of any owners=spouses residing on the

premises, $79,050 or less? (See definition of income for STAR purposes on back ofform.) Yes D No D
If the answer to both questions 4 and 5 is Yes, all owners, including nonresident owners, must attach a copy of
either their 2011 federal or 2011 state income tax returns (if filed). (Tax schedules and tax form attachments
are not routinely required.) The assessor may require proof of age.

Return this form to your local assessor by taxable status date (see back). Do not file this form with the
New York State Tax Department or the Office of Real Property Tax Services.

Caution: Anyone who misrepresents his or her primary residence, age, or income shall be subject to a $100 penalty,
shall be prohibited from receiving the STAR exemption for five years, and may be subject to criminal prosecution .

All resident owners must sign and date.

Signature Date

Signature Date

Signature Date

Clear Form


